Assam assembly polls: Congress releases list of 26 candidates for phase 2


In the run-up to the assembly polls in Assam, Congress on Wednesday introduced a list of 26 candidates to characterize the social gathering within the second phase of the elections.

The social gathering has additionally appointed Mohan Prakash and Jayadev Jena as All India Congress Committee (AICC ) observers for the upcoming assembly elections in Assam.

Also Read | Dissecting Ola’s audacious electric dreams

The essential opposition social gathering had on Saturday launched the primary list of 40 candidates for the upcoming three-phase election for the 126-member Assam assembly.

On Sunday, the social gathering had issued the second list of three candidates for the Titabor, Dhakuakhana and Naoboicha assembly constituencies.

The Congress-led ‘Mahajoth’ or grand alliance has AIUDF, BPF, CPI(M), CPI, CPI(ML) and the Anchalik Gana Morcha as its constituents.

The elections to the 126-member Assam assembly can be held in three phases, starting on 27 March. The outcomes can be introduced on 2 May.

Total candidates in Assam

More than 173 candidates have filed their nominations for 47 Assam assembly seats going to polls within the first phase, the state’s chief electoral officer mentioned on Tuesday.

The final date of submission of nominations for the primary phase was Tuesday.

The quantity of candidates submitting papers would enhance as some districts are but to submit their list, an official mentioned.

Among outstanding candidates who filed nominations on the final day had been Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal from Majuli, sitting BJP MLAs Angoorlata Deka from Batadroba, Ashok Singhal from Dhekiajuli, Mrinal Saikia from Khumtai, and Padma Hazarika from Sootea, sitting Congress MLA Rupjyoti Kurmi from Mariani and former Congress minister Bismita Gogoi from Khumtai.

Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) president Lurinjyoti Gogoi filed his nominations from each Duliajan and Naharkatiya constituencies.

Scrutiny can be held on 10 March and the final date of withdrawal is 12 March.

With inputs from businesses.

Subscribe to Mint Newsletters

* Enter a sound electronic mail

* Thank you for subscribing to our publication.

Source link